Showing posts with label Google. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Google. Show all posts

MySpace Join OpenSocial

MySpace has confirmed they join Google OpenSocial team.

Google OpenSocial works much like the open-source code that allows third-parties to design apps for Faceboook, only OpenSocial will extend beyond a single social network, to other blogs and Web sites. At the time of its launch, LinkedIn, Friendster, and Google's own social network, Orkut, had already signed partnerships with Google. Companies behind some of Facebook's most popular apps, including iLike and Slide, have thrown their hats in the ring.

When we first reported Google's launch of the new developer platform, OpenSocial, we couldn't help but comment on the fact that it seemed like product of bad blood, in light of the company's loss to Microsoft in the recent Facebook bidding war.

According to Reuters, Myspace and Google announced today that both companies have been working on projects for more than a year.

Both companies confirmed the partnership in a joint press release. "Our partnership with Google allows developers to gain massive distribution without unnecessary specialized development for every platform," said Myspace co-founder and CEO, Chris DeWolfe. "This is about helping the start-up spend more time building a great product rather than rebuilding it for every social network. We're pleased to collaborate with Google to establish a landmark standard for social applications."

Myspace is currently the world's largest social networking site, with 110 million users to Facebook's 48 million.

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Why Microsoft Paid Less For Facebook

The reason why Microsoft just paid $240 million than $750 million for Facebook

1. Microsoft Only Needs an Entrenched Position
Ballmer's plan to acquire 100 startups in 5 years is still sketchy, but we got the point -- Microsoft wants momentum. If the company is to go forward as planned then taking a small, strategic piece of Facebook makes sense. Microsoft's financial interests in Facebook's ad platform already exist, so it only makes sense to strengthen that tie as the hype builds. Getting a direct line to Facebook's international audience (which makes up a whopping 60% of its users) isn't too shabby either -- at least for Redmond's ad sales department. A larger commitment (financial or otherwise), could definitely help with Facebook's cash flow, but at this juncture the company really needs support for its ad platform, just as Microsoft needs an entrenched position in the online ad market.

2. Microsoft Wouldn't Drink the $15 Billion Kool-Aid
Let's face it -- a $15 billion valuation for Facebook is just as pretentious as a monocle. With today's alliance, Microsoft most likely chose a figure it was willing to spend ($240 million) and then invested accordingly. Even though Facebook can claim that it's 1.6% of $15 billion, it will always be $240 million to Microsoft. At the end of the day, the social networking site is probably just happy to have a lighter load for generating revenue, and Microsoft is glad it didn't dump $750 million into what could be the next Skype.

3. Microsoft Was the Highest Bidder
$240 million really isn't that much. Especially when $750 million was the going figure for the longest time. In terms of Google's cash flow, a company accountant could trip coming out of the bathroom and drop that much cash. It's safe to say that Microsoft was the highest bidder because it wanted this particular investment more. That's not to say that Google turned its nose up at Facebook entirely. The interest was there -- just not at Facebook's asking price. The cost of hubris? Having to eat crow and take Microsoft's down-to-earth offer.

Microsoft Beats Google for Facebook


Microsoft has beat Google in its bid for Facebook. The software giant will invest $240 million in the social networking site in a move that will preserve Microsoft's existing advertising deal with Facebook.

Facebook chose Microsoft over Google because it was pleased with the way Microsoft's ad partnership had developed over the last year, said Owen Van Natta, VP operations and chief revenue officer at Facebook.

http://www.microsoft.com/Presspass/press/2007/oct07/10-24FacebookPR.mspx

Yahoo Deal Agreement for Mobile Search

Yahoo trying to catch up with Google in mobile search. Yahoo deal the agreement with Telefonica, Spanish telecommunication provider.

With the agreement, Yahoo will operate searches and sell advertising linked to them in 15 countries in Europe and Latin America.

Google meanwhile has a mobile search agreement with Vodafone.

Geraldine Wilson, VP of the mobile division of Yahoo Europe declined to provide financial details of the deal with Telefonica, other than to say it was a “long-term” arrangement that was expected to generate “millions” in revenue

Source : www.nytimes.com

How Adsense Scripts Works

Do you wonder how Google Adsense scripts work. I mean this is just script, how can shows up relevant ads to our website.

I'll try to explain the secret of Google Adsense Scriptsshow_ads.js

Before we continue, it's important to you understand this article for education only, not for hacking Google Adsense Scripts. You break ToS GA if you do that. We are on the same page now ? Ok good.

Google Adsense Script (show_ads.js) maybe protected by Obfuscator to make the script hard to read. I need a lot of time to reformat script and rename variabel based on my logic.

How Google Adsense Scripts work ?


(script type="text/javascript")(!--
google_ad_client = "pub-71209491204xxxxx";
google_ad_width = 180;
google_ad_height = 150;
google_ad_format = "180x150_as";
google_cpa_choice = "CAEQyvTH1QMaCLmcVsXlpQobKILJ0s0BMAA";
//--)
(/script)
(script src="http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/show_ads.js" type="text/javascript")
(/script)

Notes : I've changed <> to () to prevent ads shows up in this post.


Look at script beginning with "google_" thats is parameter sent to show_ads.js to build a large query string to server, and server returning back by showing ads. By default you can't modify script unless you are premium publisher like slasdot.org.
There is no different script between premium publisher and normal publisher, we using the same script, show_ads.js. The different is normal publisher DISALLOWED to use all parameter in show_ads.js

The complete parameter of Adsense script, show_ads.js













































































































































































Parameter Description
google_ad_client Your Adsense publisher id
google_ad_output By default is "html". Other value is "js" or "textlink"
google_ad_host 3rd party host. Sharing your revenue with them. For example if you publish your adsense code using blogger service by adding widget then you will sharing revenue with blogger.com
google_ad_channel Channel, for tracking performance your ads
google_ad_region I don't know yet. Somebody tell me
google_ad_section Focusing Google crawl or bot to showing ads inside tag google_ad_section_start and google_ad_section_end
google_ad_type Format of your ads, it can be "text", "image" or "text_image"
google_ad_override I don't know yet. Somebody tell me
google_alternate_ad_url Alternate url if PSA (Public Service Ads) shows up
google_alternate_color Fill with color if PSA (Public Service Ads) shows up
google_cpa_choice The referral id you choose
google_ad_override I don't know yet. Somebody tell me
google_country Country
google_city City
google_safe slashdot.org using it. But i don't know yet
google_country Country
google_hints I don't know yet. Somebody tell me
google_encoding Probably encode referral id ads
google_last_modified_time I don't know yet. Somebody tell me
google_targeting I don't know yet. Somebody tell me
google_max_num_ads Sets maximum ads. I've seen some site can shows 10 content ads. But this is against Adsense ToS
google_page_url Our website url maybe ?
google_color_bg Background color
google_color_text Teks color
google_color_link Link color
google_color_url Url color
google_color_border Border color
google_color_line Line color
google_kw_type I don't know yet. Somebody tell me
google_targeting I don't know yet. Somebody tell me
google_language Someone said, if your website not using english then set "google_language = en", to prevent PSA shows up, but of course this against Adsense ToS
google_feedback Feedback link
google_page_location Maybe location where ads shows up
google_cust_age Your profile
google_gender Your profile
google_cust_interests Your profile
google_cust_idid Your profile
google_cust_job Your profile
google_cust_u_url Your profile
google_cust_lh Your profile
google_cust_ch Your profile
google_ed I don't know yet. Somebody tell me


I can't explain all parameter, it will help me if someone share to me.

PS : I don't know why blank space appears before table. Probably Blogger bugs

My Google Adsense Pin Finally Arrived

Horrayy...

After 3 month blogging, my adsense account reaches more than $50. According to term & condition of GA (Google Adsense), when i reaches $50 for the first time then i should get my Google pin to get my first payment.

I already received it 4 days ago. I can't wait to get my first payment.


Update : I received in 3 weeks. My hometown is in Jakarta, Indonesia

Tips Choosing Adsense New Referral Unit

Choosing adsense referral advertise is depending to your website / blog. But this tips is almost works.

Do :
1. Choose product that offer benefit for download free trial software.
    People always want to try a free software
2. Choose product that offer benefit for signup
    Again free signup always attract people

Don't :
1. Choose hotel adsense referral.
    People always ignore hotel advertise
2. Choose referral which is require to buy their product.
    We all love free software / product
3. Choose referral from travel / airline advertiser
    The reason is clear, to get revenue, visitor must buy ticket

Google Adsense New Referrals Unit

Google Referrals allow you to choose specific products or groups of products to advertise on your site, allowing you to match ads to your content.

Choose up to 15 products or specific ads to rotate in the referral unit. You can also choose categories and keywords to ensure you get newer ads as they become available.

Each category has one or more product.
Here is the list of category :
1. Automotive
2. Business
3. Computers & Electronics
4. Entertainment
5. Finance & Insurance
6. Food and Drink
7. Games
8. Health
9. Industries
10. Photo & Video
11. Recreation
12. Shopping
13. Telecommunication
14. Travel
15. Google product

We can choose the product manualy which is offer more profit.
For example : In Automotive category has 11 product. Click detail to see what is offer more benefit to you. 

Or if you don't want waste your time to see all product, you can simply add Automotive category and make sure you check "Pick best performing ads. Your chosen ads may not always show". With this option Google will take the best performing ads for you.

Here is the official announcement from Google Adsense

This past March, we launched a referrals beta to test the feature and iron out some wrinkles. Now that we've finished our testing, we're pleased to announce that referrals 2.0 will soon be available to all AdSense publishers in referrals-supported languages.

While some of you may already be familiar with referrals for Google products, this launch will greatly expand the inventory and functionality of referrals for AdSense publishers. Below we've highlighted a few of the key benefits of referrals 2.0:
Expanded product inventory: While many of you have had success referring one of our Google products, some of you weren't able to find a product that fit the context of your site. Referrals 2.0 offers products from thousands of AdWords advertisers, so you can find the right ads for your sites.

Category and keyword targeting: With thousands of products available, it can be difficult to decide which ads will perform best on your site. That's why we give you the option to refer products by category and keyword. You can narrow down the types of ads you want to display and let AdSense figure out which ones will perform best on your site. Whether you want ads for a specific category, advertiser, or product, referrals 2.0 will give you the control to decide.

Ad unit optimization: It can be tricky picking the best ads for your site, so we've included ad unit optimization for referrals. When you create a new referral ad unit, simply select the Pick best performing ads option. We'll then compare your selected ads to other relevant ads, and serve the ads we expect to perform best on your site.

Better targeting for pages with multiple themes: With standard contextual targeting, ads may not match up directly with the text around them if there are a number of themes on the page. With referrals, you can select unique “keywords” for each ad unit to narrow the targeting directly to the theme you want. Better targeting means higher earnings for your site.

Greater compensation for high-quality traffic: Since referrals are paid on a cost-per-action (CPA) basis, your traffic matters. If the traffic you send to advertisers is more likely to turn into a completed sale or lead, you will earn more with referrals.

Add your seal of approval: Unlike AdSense for content ads, our program policies allow you to make specific references to referral ads on your site. If you endorse the product that you are referring, feel free to let your users know. By adding your personal review of the products you refer, you can help your users make more informed choices.
To get started with referrals, click the AdSense Setup tab in your account, then click Referrals. If you don't see referrals 2.0 right away, please check back in a few days, as the feature will gradually become available in all accounts over the next few weeks. Please also keep in mind that for some languages, advertisers are just getting started so ad inventory may be limited at this time. We encourage you to check back frequently to see new offers.

If you have any questions about how to add a new referral unit to your site, be sure to check out the updated referrals section of the Help Center.

Adsense Trick 8 - Maximize Adsense CTR

Many publishers around the world confused by Google Adsense because of their earning for Adsense doesn't meet with their estimate calculation. They got minimum clickthroughrates everytime. Actually, we can make it better than those situation if we knew about some tips for increasing CTR. With these tips below, each publishers have a big chance to make money online from adsense with CTR increased to maximum limit.

Camouflage.
You should make your Adsense ads look as a part of your web page. They shouldn't look like an Ad. People are negative to advertising. They search the internet for content not ads. Especially for Banners - they have a less of 0.5% response. Their days are over. Imagine if you have an Adsense ad looking like the typical Banner with different colors. It will not be profitable

Placement.
Even if you have the best Ad, people will not respond if they don't see it instantly. Tips for the best place to see the ad is the top of your web page and the next is aside your document's text. Visitors will click it more frequently since it will look like your text

Choose the effective ads type.
Text ads are better than image ads. Like before, people are more responsive to text than images. In a way it is considered as a part of the online document and is more clickable. This tips usually used by webmaster

Traffic.
Try to use legitimate ways of traffic. Some people use Google Adwords and other Pay-per-click search engines. The problem here is to search very carefully for the right niche and keywords in order to make your campaigns profitable. Other ways are link popularity techniques like link exchange directories, software or even mass blog submission techniques. DON'T USE LINK FARMS and classifieds for that, because the search engine's algorithms are extremely clever and they will ban your listings. For exchange, you'll got a lot of number of traffics and your impression will be increase with this.

No Border ads.
One of the best tricks is to erase the borders of Adsense ads and make them, again, having the same color with your website's background

No other advertisements.
The first reason is to be legitimate according to Google's Rules and the second more practical reason is that you do not want to distract your visitor's attention and go somewhere else without clicking your Adsense ads. Useful tips? huh.

Use site maps.
Google's site maps visit your site and crawl it much sooner that any other submission process. You will got detailed of this tips at :
http://www.google.com/webmasters/sitemaps

Do not rely on one website.
Yes, you can make money with one website but try to make as more as possible. This tips usually used by webmaster who said "one day one site"

Relevant content is King.
Articles are one of the best tips to create huge websites that will be crawled by search engine's robots. Don't forget search engines exist to provide relevant content at first

Relevant ads.
It's one of the most important tips for Adsense success. If the internet user can't find a relevant ad in your page, he or she won't click the ad. Would you act differently? So it's critical to create relevant resource for your web page

Adsense Trick 7 - Adsense Earning And Revenue Calculation

Google Adsense makes some simple calculation formula in order to calculate the Adsense earning of publishers. I will try to explaining about those calculation, and I hope it could be useful for some Adsense beginner. There are several terms that related with adsense tips and tricks.

Clickthrough rate (CTR) is the number of clicks an ad unit receives divided by the number of times the ad unit is shown (impressions).

Effective CPM (eCPM) is cost per 1000 impressions. From a publisher's perspective, CPM is a useful way to compare revenue across different channels and advertising programs. It is calculated by dividing total earnings by the number of impressions in thousands.

Impression is the number of times an ad is displayed on Google or on sites or products in Google's ad network. A page impression is counted each time an ad unit is displayed on a publisher's site. Page impressions are used when calculating reports for Adsense publishers, rather than ad impressions

Earnings is total money that would be given by Google Adsense for publishers who participate in their affiliate programs.

Earnings Per Click (EPC) actually is average cost per click that would be given to publishers depends on the sum of the click, page impressions and advertiser's bid. However, it's still be a Google Adsense Secret.

So, here are the formula for Adsense calculation :

CTR = (Clicks / Impressions) * 100

EPC = Earnings Per Click

eCPM = (Earnings / Impressions) * 1000
eCPM = CTR * EPC * 10

Earnings = eCPM * Impressions / 1000
Earnings = CTR * EPC * Impressions / 100

Eg.: Today you've got 9 clicks for 2017 impressions. (Just for sample, the EPC was 0.04)

CTR = (9 / 2017) * 100 = 0.4462 0.45

eCPM = 0.4462 * 0.04 * 10 = 0.17848 0.18
eCPM = (0.3599941 / 2017) * 1000 = 0.17848 0.18

Earnings = 0.17848 * 2017 / 1000 = 0.3599941 0.36
Earnings = 0.4462 * 0.04 * 2017 / 100 = 0.3599941 0.36

Adsense Trick 6 - Adsense Best Placement

Google's own AdSense experts say that that there is a direct correlation between the placement of the AdSense ads and the resulting clickthrough. When ads are placed in "content zones", rather than in "advertising zones", response rates on Google AdWords goes up.

There are also indications showing that ads appearing on the right side of the page get clicked more than ads appearing on the left side. Advertising analysts with degrees in human behavior and psychology have spent thousands of man-years (people-years?) studying how people read printed and Internet content and what it takes to get them to respond to ads. While some of these studies are proprietary, or are only available to anyone with $10,000 or more to spend on a copy, other studies have been made public and can be read by anyone who is interested. Google themselves has released some relevant information which is focused directly on increasing your Google AdSense response.

Of course, all of the studies in the world aren't worth a hill of beans if the findings don't work on your web site. That's why it is important to test, test and test again. Experiment with your Google AdSense placement and track the results over a period of time. Google provides response tracking tools in your AdSense control panel. Learn how to use them. As you begin to see what may be only subtle differences in response, you'll be able to determine what works best for your particular site. But don't get complacent.

What's working for you now might not work next month if you change your site design or content. One of the most important factors in determining placement of your ads is the type of content that your site delivers. If you are primarily an e-commerce site, and you have a lot of pictures and ad copy for your own products competing for attention against AdSense ads, then it is going to be a particularly tough challenge getting any kind of decent Google AdSense clickthrough. Situations like this that require very thorough testing and a lot of trial and error.

Blogs seem to have a lot of success generating high response rates to Google AdSense listings. Perhaps it's because blog readers realize that ads revenue is the only way that their favourite blogmaster can keep the lights on, so the readers think of clicking on ads as a way to make some donation. Regardless of what the experts say, your best bet is to tailor your Google AdSense ads placement to what your own experience shows work best for you. And for the last, you are the only expert who matters with this. Anyway, you can read more information you need to know about their findings at Google support here https://www.google.com/support/adsense/bin/static.py?page=tips.html.

Adsense Trick 5 - Adsense Domination

Prepare your site with some advice in order to gain Adsense domination. There are some simple tips and tricks to help you makes Adsense domination and increasing revenue from Google Adsense.
The key to making money with Adsense is all about numbers. very BIG numbers! Sure, there are a few people making serious money with less than five sites, but these are the exception. Your goal will be twelve sites in three months. That's just ONE sites per week! If you're not ready yet for adsense battle out there, follow my tips and tricks carefully before you take any action which could make you avoid the suffer of the battle.

In order to maximize Adsense income with only twelve sites, you must know which markets are paying well. To break this down even further, you need to know which keywords within those markets are paying the most valuable words for earning some passive income from adsense

Register your own domains. Once you've identified and chosen your markets, you must register yoyur own domains appropriate to those markets. For example, if your market is "Make Money Online", a domain such as http://www.make-money-online.com OR http://www.makes-money-online.com have better impact.

Create your own site. Using your favorite page generation software and keyword list, it's time to develop your own site. There are some tips and tricks to bear in mind when you develop these specifically for Adsense.

Here is sample adsense domination format :
Format - Always use the large 336×280 large rectangle.
Border - Match the same color as your background.
Background color - Border - Match the same color as your background.
Link = "0000CC" (any color which attract the visitor's)
Color_url = "999999" (any color which have vague color)
Color_text = "333333" (any color which have standard text color)
Position - Far left or center and just above the page fold (Top 25% of site)

Verify and track your site. Visit your site and make sure all links work and that the sites appear to your satisfaction. You should also check out the ads Google is displaying. Are they targeted to your primary high paying keyword? If not, recreate your site using your high paying keyword in a higher density throughout your site. Make sure you track your Adsense format, position, and traffic with a tracking system specifically designed for Adsense. Once you know your stats, you can adjust for maximum clickthroughs and higher revenues.

Get your site listed in the search engines. This is simple tips. Simply rent links to your site. A PR7 or PR8 link will do the job. If they didn't accept you cause your rank is too low, try for some lower page rank.

Adsense Trick 4 - How To Make Money With Adsense

How to Make Money with Google Adsense? Here are The best Google Adsense Tips and Tricks for making more money (profit) from Google Adsense program.

Follow the rules mentioned in Adsense policies. You will always earn more revenue from Adsense by playing it safe and clean.

Never modify the Google Adsense javascript code although just a little bit.

Don't click on your own ads - Google is much smarter than you think. You should not reload your pages excessively. If you are testing your website layout with Google adsense, follow some precautions. Or you can use the unofficial Google Adsense Sandbox Tool that is accessible from Firefox, IE and other browsers to see what kind of Google ads will be served based on content (website address URL) or keywords.

Do not ask your friends, family or your visitors to click on your Google ads. Do not include incentives of any kind for users to click on your ads. Don't labeling your Google ads with text or graphic other than sponsored links or advertisements.

Don't place ads in a pop-up windows, guest book pages, login pages, error pages or even empty pages. Place it only at your content based pages.

Don't start a "mesothelioma cancer" or "home equity loan rates" website merely to make money from accidental clicks (accidence). You will never make money out these "made-for-adsense-only" (MFA) websites. Instead, write on topics what you are passionate about. Don't waste your money on high-paying adsense keywords lists.

For a short articles, CTR is best when ads are placed just above the content and above the fold.

For long articles, CTR improves if ads are placed somewhere in the middle of your content - visitors read the long content and then they are looking for more resources when they finished reading or when they bored to reading.

Use Text Ads instead of Image Ads as users get more options. It will safe the time for your visitor loading your page. Remember that image loads longer than any text! If you still want to display image ads, consider ad formats that support image ads - Choose either the 336x280 large rectangle or the 160x600 wide skyscraper - or both, if you display multiple ad units on a page.

Google Ads without background color and borders always perform better. Make the border color and background color same as your page background color.

Always put ads above the main fold. Make sure that the ad unit with the highest clickthrough rate is the first instance of the ad code that appears in the HTML. Since the first ad unit is always filled before the rest, you want to make sure that ad unit is located in the best placement on your page.

Try setting the ad link URL color to a lighter shade. If your text is black, you may make the adlink as light gray.

The large rectangle is the best paying adsense format (336x280) - The Google Adsense Publisher team also feels that the best formats are the wider ones - the ad formats that contain the widest individual ads. Try using the 336x280 large rectangle, 300x250 medium rectangle, or 160x600 wide skyscraper.

Placing images next to ads or above ads does help in attracting user attention. But you must put it very cautious because you may get banned if you don't make any separation between image and the ads.

Blend AdLinks with other navigation links or place horizontal adlinks at the top of your webpage. AdSense publishers are permitted to click on link unit topics on their web pages, provided that they do not click on any Google ads on the resulting page. Because the earning was counted when the ads on the result pages being clicked, not at the text link ads on your page.

Organize an Adsense community with your friends and colleagues - Request them to navigate your website, watch their activity - it will provide vital clues about which regions on your website draw more user attention. Try putting ads near those areas.

You can put up to 3 adsense units on a page. Try putting a large skyscraper on the right navigation sidebar of your website. That area is close to the browser scrollbar. You can also add 2 AdSense for search boxes, 1 adlink unit and 1 referral button per product (i.e., 1 AdSense referral button and 1 Firefox plus Google Toolbar referral button).

The first few lines of your content are an important factor for determining what Ads are served on your webpage. That's the right place to put keywords in bold (strong or tags) or header tags (h1, h2, h3, etc).

Always select the setting to open Google Adsense search box results in a new browser window, so you won't lose your visitors. Click the Open search results in a new browser window checkbox and this add target="google_window" to your form tag.

Maximum people think the search box is on the top right corner. That's why many publishers placing the search box on that place. But with some research, I have found that people will make any searching when they finished reading your article or feel boring and about to leave your webpage. You may put one on your top right corner, and the second one is at the end of your webpage.

Don't syndicate full content. If people can read everything from the newsreader window itself, why would they visit your website where your ads are.

Use URL channels to determine performance of individual pages. I track my most popular pages with Google Analytics, Statcounter and create a channel for each of the URL. You can even track Adsense Clicks with Analytics

For low CTR pages, try changing titles or adding more content to get better focused ads.

Block low paying advertisers with Filters. Why to loose a visitor for 0.01 cents. Use Overture or Google Adwords Keywords tool to discover keywords that are less popular with advertisers.

The AdSense for search Top Queries report shows you what your users are looking for, by listing the 25 most common searches conducted through your AdSense for search boxes. Use this report to identify additional topics to add to your site, or to keep track of your most sought-after information. Focus and improve that content.

Not everyone has a RSS reader. Use RSS to Email services like Rmail, FeedBlitz, or Bloglet to let users subscribe to your blog by email.

Google Acquisition Postini

Google's July 9 acquisition of Postini is another clear sign that the search giant is staking a claim in the on-demand enterprise applications market and ratcheting up the heat in the already sizzling software as a service sector, especially against Microsoft.
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With Postini, which began as an e-mail filtering company and evolved into compliance technology that enforces a company's communications policies, Google can now address the perception that its nascent portfolio of e-mail and messaging applications aren't quite ready for prime time.

RELATED LINKS

* Google Gears Reflects Demand for Offline Data Access
* Does Google's New Tagline Imply a Shift to Enterprise Apps?
* Google Faces Long Campaign to Win Enterprise Customers
* Google Apps Premier Edition Takes Aim at the Enterprise

What's more, Google can take advantage of Postini's huge customer base—35,000 customers and 10 million users—to become a contender in the desktop applications market where Microsoft lives.

"Basically this is [Google] throwing the gauntlet down to Microsoft and saying 'we intend to compete with you in your core market,'" said Shar Van-Boskirk, an analyst with Forrester Research. "And if that's the case we will see Google compete with Microsoft's broader set of back office applications."

The question is whether Google's $625 million acquisition of Postini will make enterprise IT buyers feel secure enough to adopt Google applications?

There's no question that Google's business-level hosted applications, known as Google Apps, are gaining traction. Dave Girouard, vice president and general manager of Google's Enterprise division, said that more than 1,000 small businesses download Google Apps daily, as have hundreds of universities.

But Girouard also conceded that security concerns have prevented larger companies from adopting Google's applications. According to Girourad, companies need "brain dead easy" technology that has native archiving, compliance and legal discovery capabilities.

In this context the Postini acquisition, which has been rumored for at least a month, makes sense.

"Why Postini?" Girouard asked during a July 9 press conference discussing the deal. "Google has always been very focused on the end-user experience, one that is simple and intuitive. But security and compliance are a must in bigger business. That's what Google wants to take advantage of. We are fundamentally here today because it's a business we believe we should be in. It will accelerate software as a service."

Postini, founded in 1999, provides three separate suites: Communication security (e-mail, Web, IM); communications compliance (archiving, encryption, Web compliance); and e-mail security.

The software is available on a multitenant architected platform designed for enterprise-wide deployments, according to Scott Petry, founder, chief technology officer and executive vice president of product development at Postini.

Click here to read more about Google's shift to the enterprise.

"We deliver multiple applications [that] service customers across security and compliance," said Petry during the July 9 call. "Importantly, we have a platform to configure our application set that lets us configure to the customer's needs. Customers get the power of the Internet as a computing platform and a suite of applications that is centrally managed and provisioned."

So while Google gets an on-demand platform for delivering secure communication functionality, Postini clearly gains from having a global reach. "Scale has to be our deal as well," said Petry. "This allows us to build our application sets to meet the needs of each [customer]."

Prior to the Postini acquisition Google tried to address messaging security, but it was something the company did through partnerships—an approach that is clearly not working for the enterprise set.

"We have been focusing on partnerships but asking customers to pull [functionality] together themselves," said Girouard. "It's really in our interest to do that for them."

Postini's secure email and messaging puts Google in a good position to compete against the likes of Microsoft (Exchange), IBM (Lotus Notes), Novell (Group Wise) and newer entrants to the online e-mail and messaging market place like Hotmail, Yahoo Mail and AOL.

"Postini is a key provider of mail and instant messaging security providers. The difference in where this acquisition makes a great opportunity [for Google] is Postini has a broad customer base," said Rebecca Whettemann, an analyst with Nucleus Research. "It shows that Google is continuing to look at the enterprise space as growth for them. It's a much stronger message."

Whettemann said that what Google is really looking to do with the Postini acquisition is slip into the enterprise market dominated by Microsoft Exchange—a product that's been a runaway success since Microsoft introduced it a decade ago.

"[With Postini] we'll see organizations consider Google Apps," said Whettemann. "Particularly those that question how much of the Microsoft suite they want to use. E-mail is an ideal [entry point]."

Forrester's VanBoskirk agrees that more secure messaging and e-mail applications will present a better in for Google in enterprise deals—with entry being the key word.

"That's a big shift for enterprise businesses to shift from a Microsoft shop to any other. We're talking years for Microsoft to be threatened significantly," said VanBoskirk. "Do I think this is going to make enterprises drop their enterprise applications? No. But it will introduce a new set of tools and [companies] can decide if they're better or faster two years down the road."

Adsense Trick 3 - Maximize Revenue With Adsense

I wanna share some tips to maximize your income from adsense :

Maximize AdSense Revenue -- Tips #1 :
It is extremely easy to generating revenue with Google AdSense. Get started now! After you're accepted to the program, just add a few lines of javascript code to your site (Google shows you how once you're accepted), and within a few minutes your site will begin displaying ads, and so you can start making money. Do it now, cause each day you wait means your revenue is lost.

Maximize AdSense Revenue -- Tips #2 :
Create more content pages for your site and display ads on these pages. All else being equal, the more pages you have displaying ads, the more money you'll earn. If you already have a website, display ads on more pages. And create more great content pages. We recommend that you focus on creating pages (and sites) on topics you have a passion for. It's especially useful if these content pages are very clearly focused. Then, Google will be able to serve highly relevant ads to your visitors. This means your visitors will be more interested in the ads, which results in higher clickthrough rates, and more money for you!

Maximize AdSense Revenue -- Tips #3 :
Whenever possible, use higher paying keywords. Obviously, you'll earn more if the average ad that Google displays pays more per click. The question is: how do you get Google to display higher paying keywords? Let's first talk about what you shouldn't do: Don't create pages on unrelated keywords just because they pay more. In other words, don't create a page on "cancer" on your game based site just because "cancer" pays more than "games". You may be wondering how you know what keywords pay best. If you're a Google AdWords advertiser, you can log into your AdWords account and experiment. If you're not an AdWords advertiser, one way to find this out is to use a free tool at the pay-per-click search engine, Yahoo Search Marketing (formerly Overture). This tool allows you to see what advertisers are paying on Yahoo Search Marketing for each keyword. Granted, there are certainly differences between keyword pricing at Yahoo Search Marketing and Google. Yet, this tool can give you a general idea of which keywords will pay more than others. (Also, remember that you will be sharing revenue with Google, so you will earn a portion of the amount the advertiser pays for each click). Visit our page on Internet marketing recommended resources to learn how to use this Yahoo Search Marketing tool, as well as finding other useful keyword tools. In our example above, when you use this Yahoo Search Marketing tool, you'll see that if you type in "games", the maximum price is about $7.51. (Note: this may change by the time you view this page since it is a dynamic system.) "cancer", on the other hand, right now has a maximum price of $27.12. Quite a difference!

Maximize AdSense Revenue -- Tips #4 :
Create new pages with higher paying keywords (while maintaining relevancy). Sometimes, selecting different keywords on the same topic can create a substantial difference in how much you earn. For example, let's say you have a gardening site and you want to create some new pages. By carefully selecting which topics to focus on first, you can dramatically increase your income. For example, using the Yahoo Search Marketing tool mentioned above, you discover that "water gardening" currently has a maximum price of $0.50, while "gardening zone" is only $0.05. That means you can earn 10 times more by creating a page on "water gardening" than "gardening zones"'! You can use this information to decide which relevant keywords to focus on as you create new pages for your site.

Maximize AdSense Revenue -- Tips #5 :
Create a new site on high paying keywords. If you want to create a brand new site to take advantage of Google AdSense, you may want to select a topic with high paying keywords. Then, of course, provide great information on that topic. But how do you know what the highest paying keywords are? One tool you can use comes from the pay-per-click search engine is 7Search. 7Search has a page on the 100 highest paying keywords . Unfortunately, it often "times out" and gives you an error when you try to access the page. So you may need to be patient and try several times to get this list. An even better suggestion, though, for building a new site is to use Ken Evoy's Site Build It tools. We have now SBI for two successful sites -- it's an excellent tool. You can find more useful keyword tools on our Internet marketing recommended resources page.

Maximize AdSense Revenue -- Tips #6 :
Get more qualified traffic to your site. It makes sense that if you get more qualified visitors to your site, more people will naturally click on the displayed ads, and you'll earn more money. We offer some of the best available resources on how to get more qualified traffic to your site on our Internet marketing recommended resources page

Maximize AdSense Revenue -- Tips #7 :
Consider creating some pages for high search engine traffic, others to sell products, and still others for Google AdSense. Recognize that different pages on your site can have different purposes. For example, some pages may be designed to sell specific products. Others may be designed to rank high in the search engines (but don't ever try to trick the search engines). Still others can be designed for Google AdSense. Once you know which pages you're creating for AdSense, select an appropriate keyword (or key phrase). Use the keyword as the file name and don't put dashes or any separators between the words . In the example above, you would use the file name "watergardening.html" for your water gardening page. Ideally, select keywords that are the highest paying keyword on the topic. By tweaking the file name, you may be able to improve your AdSense results dramatically. The next tips will explain how to create a great AdSense page.

Maximize AdSense Revenue -- Tips #8 :
Create high quality information pages. An AdSense page should have great content about a very specific topic. Be very clear about what the topic is, and carefully choose the keyword (or key phrase) describing the topic. Never try to "trick" AdSense. Don't create a page on one topic and give it a file name about a different topic. Above all, make sure the page you create offers great value to people interested in the topic. When you provide excellent information on a specific topic, your visitors will benefit and will be more likely to click through to relevant ads.

Maximize AdSense Revenue -- Tips #9 :
Choose the best format. As Google recommends, choose the best performing formats to display your ads. Don't use the Banner format, because people have become "banner blind" to a horizontal format. Google has created an excellent page of optimization tips -- check it out.

Maximize AdSense Revenue -- Tips #10 :
Display ads prominently. We recommend that you follow the optimization tapes from Google described above. Make sure there is enough "breathing room" -- i.e. white space around the ads -- so that they will easily attract your visitors.

Maximize AdSense Revenue -- Tips #11 :
Don't cheat. Do not click on the ads displayed on your own site to increase your revenue. Google (rightfully) frowns on this. Plus, Google has some of the smartest engineers around, and they are very good at detecting this kind of fraud. If you cheat, you'll likely get kicked out of the AdSense program -- and then you won't earn anything. Follow the rules and never break anything! Or you'll lose all of your earning from Google.

Adsense Trick 2 - MFA Advertising

Sometimes you've probably seen google ads like "We have found 4 best products for ...", or "Best resources on net for ...". Well in most cases, these advertisers pay you only between $0.01 to $0.03 per click, depending on your site PR (Page Rank), traffic and page views.
Filtering these kind of ads is simply not good enough. We have to eliminate their existance by providing high quality list of these sites which can be freely and easily used and applied by any AdSense Publisher acessing this web site, all for the good of internet's quality and your higher revenue of course.

You must choose your own "Competitive Ads Filter" at Google Adsense to block MFA (Made For Adsense) website which currently have a small bid at adword. Here are the top 30 MFA website list :
1. best4sites.net
2. infoscouts.com
3. finditonline.ws
4. searchguide.biz
5. truelocal.com
6. info.com
7. cohit.com
8. become-pregnant.com
9. tunu.com
10. expert-expert.com
11. getbestinfo.com
12. aworldofinformation.com
13. businesschambers.com
14. cv2006.biz
15. maximuminformation.com 16. ebay.co.uk
17. hot4sites.com
18. ratedsolutions.com
19. dealtime.co.uk
20. bloghog.biz
21. infobeagle.com
22. ad2006.com
23. medkuz.com
24. oninformation.com
25. tinyurl.com
26. oemji.com
27. go-4-best.com
28. click-here-4-best.info
29. etraveldictionary.com
30. all-free-info.com

Adsense Trick 1 - The Key To Earn Income

The key to earning an income with Google Adsense is to have your ads match the rest of the site, making them look like part of your site content. Your focus is to avoid having some Adsense blocks look like blatant.

If you already reading all of tips and tricks on some article above, then I will explaining more additional tips and tricks to make your adsense skyrocketing for earning money :

Find the right place.
Most website visitors read content that is in the middle of a webpage. As a result, the best place to put your Adsense block is in the top part of the page, at the beginning of your web content. You want to weave the Google Ads into your web content to give the appearance that they are extra links which expand on the information of the page. This tricks very useful for me

Use the Large Rectangle.
With Google Adsense, you have the option of picking different ad formats. Most of the time people opt to use the Leaderboard (728×90) or Wide Skyscraper (160×600) style ads. Unfortunately, this is the wrong choice, because both look like blatant advertisements. Instead smart webmasters have found that using the Large Rectangle (336×280) yields the best amount of click-thrus. This tricks also increasing the maximum ctr from your adsense sites

Ditch the border.
Many people experience a trick to sharp increased in Adsense revenue when they changing their border. What they change is very simple. They get rid of the border on their Adsense blocks. This is another way to make the advertisements look like useful web content

Adapt the font.
Whenever you write content, it should be the same font size and style as your Google Adsense block. This trick will help make it appear that the advertisements are a natural part of your website

Match the colors.
In addition to changing the fonts, you also should tricking for matching the colors of your website. For instance, if your content is written in black, and your hyperlinks are blue, then the Adsense blocks should also be the same color. Again, this helps the advertisements appear to be normal web content

Don't have too many distractions.
On a webpage, it is important to give web visitor a limited number of options. By having too many links and graphics, the web visitor might go to a section that doesn't help increase your profits. While it is important to inform and entertain your web visitor, it is also vital that you monetize your site. So if the main focus of your site is to earn an income through Google Adsense, then get rid of all non-essential links and graphics.

Happy Earning

Welcome to Indonesia Adsense Publisher

Here the welcome speech from Google Adsense
Inside AdSense: Selamat datang!

JaMU 0607 Review

Hari sabtu kemarin saya akhirnya sempatkan diri untuk datang ke JaMU walau badan agak meriang, pilek dan batuk.

Saya datang sekitar jam 10.05 dan tumben sekali sudah banyak orang datang dan pembicara kita kali ini yaitu Arif Rachman datang ontime. Tetapi acara masih blm bisa dimulai karena panitia JUG, Thomas belum datang. Jadi kita beramah tamah dulu update hal2 baru di Java dengan Frans Thamura sembari mencicip hidangan pembuka. Kira2 jam 10.30 Thomas uda datang, dan setelah perkenalan singkat dari anggota yang hadir, acara segera dimulai.

Seperti posting saya sebelumnya, JaMU kali ini membahas tentang Guice.
Ok kita langsung aja, Guice ini merupakan dependency injection framework. Guice ini lebih simpel tanpa konfigurasi yang rumit seperti spring karena menggunakan fitur Java annotation (berarti minimal harus Java 5). Untuk sampel coding bisa dilihat waktu mendownload Guice, dimana teknik meng-inject class sangat sederhana dilakukan. Namun Guice juga mengizinkan kita mengatur konfigurasi injection kita kedalam external file seperti xml, properties dll.

Apa sih dependency injection itu ?
Dependency injection merupakan class yang diinject (di instansiate) pada saat run time. Contoh simple :
class A
{
    private B b = new B();
}
Nah bagaimana kalau object B tidak mau memakain new B() ? Semisal anda ingin memakai new B1()
dependency injection lah solusinya. Class yang dibutuhkan dapat diinject pada saat runtime.

Kapan dependency injection kita perlukan ?
Saya sendiri saat ini tidak memerlukan dependency injection, akan tetapi jika aplikasi yang kita mau buat termasuk skala besar sehingga memerlukan berbagai envinronment seperti testing, development dan production maka anda memerlukan framework ini.

Nah yang penting diingat adalah Guice tidak dapat berdiri sendiri, Guice hanyalah dependency framework. Jadi ini hanyalah library tambahan untuk aplikasi anda. Anda bisa mengintegrasikan Guice ini dengan framework lainnya.

Sekian review dari saya silahkan coba bermain2 dengan Guice di official websitenya
http://code.google.com/p/google-guice/

JaMU 0607

Sudah lama juga saya tidak hadir diacara JaMU karena banyak halangan entah ujian maupun kuliah (Halangan utama sih males pagi2 kesana, enakan tidur hehe). Tapi JaMu bulan ini saya lihat schedulenya tidak bentrok dengan ujian, jadi kalo 
lancar saya akan  datang kesana.

Buat yg belum tahu JaMU itu apa, saya bahas sedikit.
JaMU merupakan pertemuan rutin para dedengkot java untuk membahas update seputar kemajuan java.

JaMU bulan ini akan membahas Guice, framework dari Google, seperti yang kita ketahui Google akhir2 ini agresif banget menguasai segala bidang, mulai dari search engine, aplikasi word & excel online, blog, sampai akhirnya ke bidang development.

Guice ini menurut pembicara kali ini (Arif), mengalahkan spring yang ribet dan kompleks. Meski saya tidak tertarik dengan spring maupun guice, tapi boleh juga untuk update ilmu.

Berikut ini undangan resminya dari moderator JUG Indonesia yaitu Thomas :
Java Meet Up (JaMU) 07.06 - Jakarta

Tempat:
SUN Microsystem Indonesia
Lantai 13, Gedung Wisma Metropolitan I (WTC Sudirman)
Jakarta

Waktu:
10.00 - 12.00 WIB

Hari/Tanggal:
Sabtu, 30 Juni 2007

Pembicara dan Topik:
Arif Rachim - Guice Framework

Biaya:
-- FREE --

Pendaftaran:
Kirim email ke: jug-indonesia-owner@yahoogroups.com

Subject: [JaMU 07.06] Registration
Content:
Member Information
Name:
Position:
Company:
Website:
Contact Number:
Comment:


Note:

* Tidak ada konfirmasi dari moderator, jadi silakan langsung datang ke acara.
* Registrasi diperlukan untuk keperluan administrasi JUGI dan Sun Microsystems Indonesia.